Playing Dress Up: Real Housewife of OC, 1960’s edition

Photography by Caitlin McCarrick

If I had a time machine, I’d go back to the 1960’s. And the 70’s. Maybe the 50’s too, at least for a little. And let’s be honest, we all know why I’m going: I want to check out the fashions. Thankfully, my closet provides me the next best thing.

After spending Sunday morning at the Long Beach Antique Market, I came home excited and inspired, as successful shopping trips often makes me.  My brother and his girlfriend, Caitlin, were home visiting, so I took full advantage of the moment and Caitlin’s photog skills.

I’ve always been a bit fascinated by the lives of housewives from generations past, and I’m sure my imagination has conjured them up to be somewhat stereotypical. Same thing goes with current ones, thank you, Bravo TV. As a woman from the original home to the Real Housewives franchise, I’m pretty well aware of what an OC housewife is made up of (or at least the stereotype of one). For this look, I wanted to use my secondhand vintage finds to create a real 1960’s housewife.

Vintage top (Long Beach Antique Market): $15 (sold with matching skirt)
Preview Skirt (Goodwill, Fullerton): $5
Shoemint Shoes: $79

This top is part of a vintage 1970’s top/maxi skirt set I bought last weekend at Long Beach antique market. Together, the set is totally obnoxious, but may have a time and place nonetheless. I imagine I will wear the separates much more frequently. I paired it with this pink preview skirt that I picked up at Goodwill for a measly five bucks, Shoemint pumps, glam black sunnies and the one of my favorite second hand finds ever- a black leather Banana Republic purse with strong gold accents for $40 from Crossroads Trading Co.

Walking my dog in six inch platform pumps, I definitely felt the part. Though I am a long way (and a rich husband short) from a real housewife of OC, it’s definitely fun to play one, even if it’s not on TV.

Necklace (La Bomba Vintage): $10 

Banana Republic purse (Crossroads Trading, Fillmore St., SF): $40

4 thoughts on “Playing Dress Up: Real Housewife of OC, 1960’s edition

  1. Pingback: Taking time to reflect | Second Hand Challenge

  2. Pingback: A past life | Second Hand Challenge

Leave a comment