Garage Sale Chic

Photography by Sal Taylor Kydd

Early morning phone calls always freak me out. Especially when it’s a Saturday morning and from someone you haven’t spoken to in a long time. I was happy to see Jaime’s name on my phone a few Saturdays ago, but my heart also skipped a beat. I let it go to voicemail, but listened immediately, and thank God I did.  It said: Shayna, it’s Jaime. I don’t know what you’re doing, but you need to get to Balboa Island immediately. The whole island is having a garage sale. 

American Apparel shirt dress $3 (retails for $62)

For those of you that aren’t familiar with Balboa, it’s the cutest little island in Newport Beach with adorbs beach houses that cost more than my second-handing brain can fathom. A garage sale in Balboa ain’t your average with tons of garbage; no, sir, we’re talking quality shit down here down in Balboa. Not to mention it’s the entire island. Obviously, I got dressed and out the door immediately.

Jaime, being the amazing gal that she is, knew of my second handing and set some items aside for me at her family’s garage. The above adorable chambray American Apparel shirt dress, a pink cotton sundress and the below patterned silk dress (had tags on it!!).

Silk dress, $5

I spent a whopping $13 with Jaime and got these two incredible looks out of it. Though the American Apparel shirt dress is a little short, paired with leggings or tights, a belt and some fab boots, it’ll be perfection. This silk dress crosses seasons similarly- paired with tights and boots in the fall, it’ll be a great outfit for a date (granted I get one of those- now accepting applications).

I also snagged three awesome decorative pieces and two necklaces, but you’re going to have to wait until Thursday to see those babies. Yes, there’s more where this garage sale chic came from. You know what they say, one man’s trash is another man’s treasure. Well, mateys, I struck garage sale gold.


8 thoughts on “Garage Sale Chic

  1. Pingback: Garage Sale Chic: Decor & Accessories Edition | Second Hand Challenge

  2. Pingback: Garage Sale Chic: Decor & Accessories Edition | Second Hand Challenge

  3. Pingback: What I wore Wednesday: Funemployed | Second Hand Challenge

  4. Pingback: These are a few of my favorite things | Second Hand Challenge

  5. After exploring a number of the blog posts on your web page, I honestly like your technique
    of writing a blog. I saved as a favorite it to my bookmark site list and will
    be checking back in the near future. Take a look at my website
    as well and tell me your opinion.

Leave a Reply

