Closing time: An ode to SoCal

Every new beginning comes from some other beginnings end. – Semisonic, “Closing Time”

Oh, Semisonic, you are so wise. Ever since that song rocked the 90s airwaves, the above line has resonated with me. It was my quote in my senior yearbook (woot, woot Rosary class of ’04!) and it resides on my Facebook profile under quotes to this day. It’s so true, in order to start another chapter of your life, one has to come to an end.

Today marks my last day as the Communications Project Manager at the Anaheim/Orange County Visitor & Convention Bureau. In less than two weeks, I pack up my belongings and move to San Francisco to start a new chapter of my life. No, I don’t have a job, but  I’m a risk taker and a move maker and will make these things happen for myself.

You all know I love clothing and decor. But these things are just that: things. The people I have met in my many journeys and chapters of this life, as well as the experiences I’ve had, are the real loves of my life. I cannot begin to express the gratitude I feel for all of the amazing people in my life, but I’m going to do my best. Here are some shout outs to people that have been a huge part of my life for the past three years of post-collegiate, career-starting years in Southern California.

To my bureau family that I leave today: thank you for welcoming me with open arms, allowing me to spread my wings and be a leader so early on. You made coming to work fun and truly made the work place more like a home. Dysfunctional at times, but always fun. Particular shout out to the most incredible creative lady on the planet, Jen, for being a major source of inspiration, support, laughter, friendship and most importantly, fun. I love you girl.

To the dog-loving NATPE friends I made almost three years ago at my first career stop: I am so glad that the test of time has shown that we can still laugh together (even if it’s just over email). I feel so lucky to have met and made such great friends that helped me grow and learn. See you guys next Monday!

To my Rosary biggies: You guys have been friends for 12 years, and it’s kinda hard to believe that rarely a day goes by that I don’t talk to at least one of you. You have made me who I am today- a binge eating, foul-mouthed, drunk betch with a good head on her shoulders that tries to not take herself too seriously. I’d be lost without you guys. To my wife & my husband- can’t wait to be reunited in a three-some of holy matrimony in SF. We are gonna get real cray.

To my the incredible women I have been lucky to call friends from college & by-proxy: I didn’t think I could possibly meet more good girlfriends after Rosary, but shit was I wrong. You guys have been the best of friends and the best part about it- we’ve grown closer as the years go on. Talia- RAWR and your face. Noodle- my #1 and rock. Chant- Partner in DGAF crime. B- always SP. D- deee deeee deeeeeeeeeeee. Sarah, Rachel, Rox, Jess, Jackie, Jesse- so much love.

Last but not least, to my family that has always supported me. Through my craziness, happiness, sadness, triumphs, losses, heartbreak and mostly, loudness, you guys are the best of friends and lucky doesn’t even begin to describe. Mom, Rick, Connor, Carolyn, Dad, Lisa, Josh, Rachel, Amy, Chris, Grandma C, Dick, Grandma G- leaving you guys here in SoCal is without a doubt the hardest part of moving.

Leaving  the life I’ve built for 26+ years in OC doesn’t scare me, I know I’ll be back. I am so excited for this next chapter, and though I have no idea what this big adventure of life has in store for me, I feel so blessed to know that the amazing people above will be by my side, near or far.

3 thoughts on “Closing time: An ode to SoCal

  1. Beautiful! Best written post yet! So long, farewell so-cal, hello SF!
    All the best with the move, looking forward to visiting you xxx

Leave a Reply

