Current contemplation: Rocking the layered pixie

Photography by Sal Taylor Kydd

Friends and fans of SHC, I need your help. At the risk of being made fun of more than Miley Cyrus, I am contemplating going shorter.  Inspired by a few fabulous leading ladies with killer fashion sense, stately class and stunning good looks, I just might have to try and join their ranks. Depending on what you think, of course.

Carey Mulligan

Inspirati0n number one: Carey Mulligan. This angelic indie screen siren and wife of rock god Marcus Mumford works this hair to the max. She’s a total fashion darling, sought after by heaps of designers and all the big fashion mags. She exudes a sexy innocence backed by humble confidence, and with all that working for her, it’s hard not to be a little envious.

Michelle Williams

Inspiration number two: Michelle Williams. From the moment she charmed Pacey on Dawson’s Creek, we were all mesmerized by Michelle Williams. She later went on to marry and mate with one of Hollywood’s most eligible bachelors, play (and truly embody) the one and only Marilyn Monroe, and is now dating the most hilarious Mr. Nice Guy around, Jason Segel. Do I want to be her? Ya, kinda. She’s unassumingly gorgeous, rocks vintage like it ain’t no thang and is a crazy talented actress AND mom. Bad ass.

Cate Blanchett

Inspiration number three: Cate Blanchett. This woman is in her forties, for Christ’s sake. Look at her. Flawless skin, incredible style (need I remind you about THIS mind blowing Givenchy gown) AND she’s from my favorite city in the world, Melbourne. I don’t know if I will ever be  this gorgeous or this talented, but I can at least have the same hair.

So, it’s time to vote. Comment on this post with YAY or NAY to help me decide my hair fate. 

p.s. Totally open to other suggestions if you’ve got ’em.
p.p.s. Hair cut date one week from Saturday. Results will be shared (duh).

6 thoughts on “Current contemplation: Rocking the layered pixie

  1. Yay! I’ve always wanted a pixie cut, but my hair’s too thick and it just doesn’t work. I, too, am obsessed with Michelle Williams. I think you’d look adorable with her or Carey’s cut!

  2. Yay! I had short hair for 2 years and I totally loved it. There are a few things you should be aware of though… You have to wear makeup and earrings all the time, if you don’t it is likely you will be mistaken for a boy. There is no ponytail option, your hair is either done or bedhead. Buy hats, for the days you don’t want to wet your head and fix it (say, for a quick grocery store run), throw on a hat. Other than that, I say go for it! It totally sets you apart from everyone else 🙂

Leave a Reply

